The NOVA Refugee Clinic – Legal Clinic (NRC) is the legal clinic of the NOVA School of Law and the R&D Centre on Law and Society (CEDIS), which aims to develop research in the field of asylum law, in order to monitor and evaluate the existing legal and political responses in this matter, as well as propose and recommend changes and/or the development of mechanisms that guarantee adequate public asylum policies to protect and respect the rights of applicants and beneficiaries of international protection in Portugal.

Counting on research projects, to which a strong pedagogical component is added, the NRC also aims to guide and refer applicants and beneficiaries of international protection to the competent services in the issues raised.

In order to achieve its goals, the NRC develops work of an informative nature and produces research and content in the area of ​​the right of asylum, also developing training, capacity building and awareness actions.

NOVA Refugee Clinic – Legal Clinic is the Academy in its three aspects:

  • TEACHING : learning-by-doing principle .
  • RESEARCH : dissemination of studies and reports based on information and experience acquired in carrying out the project.
  • SUPPORT SERVICES TO THE COMMUNITY: guidance and referral to applicants and beneficiaries of international protection through an integrated service .

NOVA Refugee Clinic


Francisco Pereira Coutinho

Veronica Corcodel

Emellin de Oliveira

João Marques de Azevedo


Ana Carolina Pereira

Ana Madalena Cunha

Ariana Nunes Paraíso

Beatriz Sequeira

Caio de Mello Ferreira

Camille Koltuk

Catarina de Pedro

Cláudia Loureiro

Dimitra Fragkou

Diogo Santos Sereno

Elaine Moreira

Emellin de Oliveira

Francisca Marques

Inês Tralhão

Jean Cajaty

Joana Graça

Joana Nunes

João Athayde Varela

Júlia Schütz Veiga

Madalena Dória

Madalena Simões

Maria Mariana Soares de Moura

Mariana Batista

Mariana Helena Varela

Otávio de Figueiredo Raupp

Rafaela Rocha

Renata Jorge Gomes

Rita Pereira

Rui Garrido

Sara Félix

Tânia Azevedo

Tatiana Morais

Victória Ferreira