NOVA School of Law signs an unprecedented protocol with the Fulbright Commission

NOVA School of Law has signed a protocol with the Fulbright Commission that will allow the joint attribution of scholarships that enables American Professors and Researchers to come and carry out teaching and research projects at NOVA School of Law, for a four-month period, in areas that contribute to the academic development of Law and Sustainability.

The partnership that concerns the Fulbright Award in Law and Sustainability / NOVA School of Law assumes special relevance for being the first time that the Commission for Educational Exchange between the United States of America and Portugal launches a program focused on Law and Sustainability.

“A vision of the future is in the DNA of NOVA School of Law, and that is why we are permanently committed to seeking the best ways and the best practices that can place Law in defence of a better world. This partnership with the Fulbright Commission gives us the possibility of promoting our objectives yet further, which has been assumed as a priority, through an international teaching staff that can bring new visions and new knowledge”, says Mariana França Gouveia, Director of NOVA School of Law.

The Fulbright Program is an academic exchange program of great international prestige, recognition achieved through the excellence of individual participants and institutional partners, and therefore attracting high-quality candidates.

“The Fulbright Commission welcomes the formalization of this new partnership, which will increase the number of scholarships for American professors in Portugal under the Fulbright Program and, at the same time, reinforce its action and commitment in the area of Sustainability, which it considers to be decisive and of priority”, states Otília Macedo Reis, Executive Director of the Fulbright Commission Portugal.

The selection process for the Fulbright Scholar in Law and Sustainability / NOVA School of Law will begin in spring of next year, in the United States, and will last for about a year.

The protocol is established for a three-year period, covering the academic years 2023/2024 and 2025/2026.